skip to main content

444 Pleasantville Road, Briarcliff Manor, NY 10510

Debora French - Principal
Daniel Murphy - Assistant Principal


Home of the Briarcliff High School Bears!



Our school community is a source of great pride and this site has been developed so that you can easily access information about the programs, upcoming events, and opportunities we provide.



MAY 22, 2017




BHS Accolades

Briarcliff High School named One of
America's Most Challenging High Schools!
Ranked #392 in the nation
by The Washington Post 

Briarcliff High School receives Gold Badge and
is named a 2017 U.S. News Best High School!
Ranked #28 in New York State
and #188 in the Nation 

Briarcliff recognized as a 2015-2016 "Blue Star School" for Financial Literacy by W!SE (Working In Support of Education).

Briarcliff Ranks #33
Among the Top 50 High Schools in
Newsweek’s 2016 List of Top Public High Schools in America

* Briarcliff Recognized as a "Reward School" for
2016-2017 By The University of the State of New York Education Department

* Briarcliff Ranks #30
Among the Top 50 High Schools in
Newsweek’s 2015 List of Top Public High Schools in America

* Briarcliff Ranks #48 Among the Top 500
High Schools in the nation in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) in US News and World Reports

* Briarcliff Receives “Gold Medal” Recognition in
U.S. News and World Report’s National Survey of High School Programs
with State Rank of #31

Columbia Scholastic Press Association Medalist Critique Award
To help students print or improve their final yearbook product the CSPA offers Medalist Critiques. Each year, student newspapers, magazines, yearbooks or on-line media are invited to submit issues to the Associations experienced adviser-judges.

The Critique contains a written set of standards developed by the CSPA to itemize the best practices for student media. The adviser-judge reads the printed publication and analyzes it strengths and weakness as described by the Critique.

Each publication that is entered in the annual competition is sorted into Bronze, Silver and Gold placings by judges, based on its achievement according to the Critique standards.

The Briarcliff Bruin had received the Silver Medalist award for 2013 and 2014.

The 2015 Bruin has been awarded the Gold Medalist Award for the first time. Congratulations to our editors, Emily McGranaghan (class of 2015), Allie Meltser (class of 2015) Sam Simpson (class of 2017) and Allison Greenberg (class of 2016)!




Congratulations to Lin Xie and Kaveri Gowda!
Winners in the I-SWEEP Competition in Houston, Texas
(International Sustainability World Energy, Engineering and Environment Science Olympiad)
Lin Xie - Bronze Medal
Kaveri Gowda - Gold Medal

Congratulations to The Briarcliff High School Filmmakers for winning Best Comedy at the 2017 Westchester County Future Filmmakers Festival at The Picture House in Pelham, NY. The Best Comedy was awarded for Your Call is Important to Us, written by Henry Ross, starring Jack McGranaghan, Henry Ross, and Rebecca Leon and edited by Olivia Banc; it is the story of what the phone company is really doing while the customer is on hold.

Three films created by BHS Filmmakers and one public service announcement by The Introduction to Film students were also juried and shown at the festival. They were:

Apple Bytes Back, by the BHS Future Filmmakers, starring Olivia Banc, Jack McGranaghan, Mikayla Kibel, Brandon Danuff, Rebecca Leon, Rebecca Strauss and Tucker Poux and edited by Rebecca Leon

Scoop Dreams by Henry Ross

Don't Text and Walk, a public service announcement by Samantha Robins, Juliet Tierney and Steven Agriantonis


Congratulations to the following students for being named
Distinguished Students of the Month for April:
Sarah VanGilder, Gr. 9
Tucker Poux, Gr. 10
Eli Karp, Gr. 11
Kelly Marchese, Gr. 12 

Congratulations to Charlotte Luttkus
for her selection and participation in the
2017 ACDA National Honors Chorus!

Congratulations to the following students who have been selected as Finalists in the 2017 Competition for National Merit Scholarships:
Eddie Ho
Samantha Manimala
Alexandra Schoepke
Sophie Underwood



Briarcliff HS Class of 2017

Valedictorian: Sophie Underwood

1st Salutatorian: Jacqueline Contento

2nd Salutatorian: Lauren Burnette

Wednesday, May 24, 2017